Archer Mayor books in order

Archer Mayor books in order Books written by Uri J. Nachimson

Archer Mayor is an American author of crime fiction who has written more than 30 books featuring his protagonist, Joe Gunther.
2023-04-01, by Uri J. Nachimson , Book author

#Archer Mayor || #Books || #Must-read ||

Table of contents:

Archer Mayor is an American author of crime fiction and a well-known personality in the literary world. He is best known for his long-running series of novels featuring his protagonist, Joe Gunther, a detective in the Vermont Bureau of Investigation. Mayor is also a historian, an amateur photographer, and a political activist.

Born in New York City in 1950, Mayor grew up in Connecticut and later attended Yale University, where he studied history. After graduation, he moved to Vermont and began writing novels. In addition to his work as an author, Mayor has also served as a police officer, a firefighter, and an emergency medical technician.

Mayor's writing style is often described as gritty and realistic, with a focus on the details of police work and crime investigation. His stories are set in Vermont, a state that he knows well and that he brings to life with vivid descriptions of its people, places, and culture. His characters are complex and well-developed, with a strong sense of humanity and a deep understanding of the human condition.

Overall, Archer Mayor is a talented author with a unique perspective on the world of crime fiction. His novels offer readers a gripping look at the darker side of rural Vermont, with intricate plots and well-drawn characters that keep readers engaged from start to finish. Whether you're a fan of crime fiction or simply looking for a great read, Archer Mayor's books are definitely worth checking out.

Archer Mayor Books in Order

  • Open Season (1988)
  • Borderlines (1990)
  • Scent of Evil (1991)
  • The Skeleton's Knee (1992)
  • Fruits of the Poisonous Tree (1993)
  • The Dark Root (1994)
  • The Ragman's Memory (1995)
  • Bellows Falls (1997)
  • The Disposable Man (1998)
  • Occam's Razor (1999)
  • The Marble Mask (2000)
  • Tucker Peak (2001)
  • The Sniper's Wife (2002)
  • Gatekeeper (2003)
  • The Surrogate Thief (2004)
  • St. Albans Fire (2005)
  • The Second Mouse (2006)
  • Chat (2007)
  • The Catch (2008)
  • The Price of Malice (2009)
  • Red Herring (2010)
  • Tag Man (2011)
  • Paradise City (2012)
  • Three Can Keep a Secret (2013)
  • Proof Positive (2014)
  • The Company She Kept (2015)
  • Presumption of Guilt (2016)
  • Trace (2017)
  • Bury the Lead (2018)
  • Bomber's Moon (2019)
  • The Orphan's Guilt (2020)

Planned Books

Archer Mayor has not announced any new books in the Joe Gunther series at this time.


The Archer Mayor books featuring Joe Gunther are a must-read for fans of crime fiction. The series offers readers a unique look at the world of crime in rural Vermont, with intricate plots and well-developed characters that keep readers engaged from start to finish. Whether you're a longtime fan of the series or a newcomer, the Archer Mayor books are a great choice for anyone who loves a good mystery.

Charlie Cory

Charlie Cory contributor to
Site owner